Salem Country Club: Difference between revisions

From Salem Links and Lore
(Created page with "Salem Country Club was founded by 12 men on Nov. 4, 1895. Among the founders were Frank W. Benson and his brother Henry P. Benson. The location they looked at was Gardner far...")
 
No edit summary
 
(One intermediate revision by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
Salem Country Club was founded by 12 men on Nov. 4, 1895. Among the founders were Frank W. Benson and his brother Henry P. Benson.
'''Salem Country Club''' was founded by 12 men on Nov. 4, 1895. Among the founders were Frank W. Benson and his brother Henry P. Benson.


The location they looked at was Gardner farm in North Salem, which later became the Gardner Park residential neighborhood on the  
The first location they looked at was Gardner farm in North Salem, which later became the Gardner Park residential neighborhood on the  


Peabody-Salem line.  
Peabody-Salem line.  
Line 8: Line 8:


Avenue. This arrangement lasted one year, when they moved back to Gardner Farm and built a clubhouse.
Avenue. This arrangement lasted one year, when they moved back to Gardner Farm and built a clubhouse.
The club moved again, this time permanently, in 1925 to Sanders Farm in West Peabody. By 1926 the club had 600 members.
The two local golf clubs are Salem Country Club (in Peabody) and the Municipal Golf Course (in Salem)


[[Category:Browse Index]]
[[Category:Browse Index]]


==See Also==
==See Also==
[http://evergreen.noblenet.org/eg/opac/record/1598757?locg=63 Salem Country Club: one hundred years, 1895-1995] G. Larrabee

Latest revision as of 12:55, 4 November 2016

Salem Country Club was founded by 12 men on Nov. 4, 1895. Among the founders were Frank W. Benson and his brother Henry P. Benson.

The first location they looked at was Gardner farm in North Salem, which later became the Gardner Park residential neighborhood on the

Peabody-Salem line.

The primitive course in Gardner Park did not work out at first, so they voted to move to the Goldthwait land in South Salem on Loring

Avenue. This arrangement lasted one year, when they moved back to Gardner Farm and built a clubhouse.

The club moved again, this time permanently, in 1925 to Sanders Farm in West Peabody. By 1926 the club had 600 members.

The two local golf clubs are Salem Country Club (in Peabody) and the Municipal Golf Course (in Salem)

See Also

Salem Country Club: one hundred years, 1895-1995 G. Larrabee