Salem Banks: Difference between revisions

From Salem Links and Lore
No edit summary
No edit summary
 
Line 6: Line 6:




'''Salem Five Cents Savings Bank''' was incorporated in 1855. It opened in the second story of the Downing Block, No. 175 Essex Street, then later in the second floor of the
'''Salem Five Cents Savings Bank''' was incorporated in 1855. It opened in the second story of the Downing Block, No. 175 Essex Street,  


Northey Building. It's presidents have been Edward D. Kimball, 1855; Edmund Smith, 1861; Henry L. Williams, 1862.
then later in the second floor of the Northey Building. It's presidents have been Edward D. Kimball, 1855; Edmund Smith, 1861; Henry L.  


Williams, 1862.


'''The Merchants' Bank''' was incorporated June 26, 1811. The bank was first located in the Union Building, later in the Bowker Block and in 1855 moved to the second floor of the Asiatic


Building on Washington St. Its presidents have been Benjamin W. Crowninshield, 1811; Joseph Story, 1815; John Treadwell, 1835.
'''The Merchants' Bank''' was incorporated June 26, 1811. The bank was first located in the Union Building, later in the Bowker Block and


in 1855 moved to the second floor of the Asiatic Building on Washington St. Its presidents have been Benjamin W. Crowninshield, 1811;


'''The Naumkeag Bank''' was incorporated in 1831. It commenced business in the store of Benjamin Dodge, opposite the  Essex House, then to the Manning Building, then Bowker Place. Its presidents have been
Joseph Story, 1815; John Treadwell, 1835.


David Pingree, Edward D. Kimball, Charles H. Fabins.
 
'''The Naumkeag Bank''' was incorporated in 1831. It commenced business in the store of Benjamin Dodge, opposite the  Essex House, then to
 
the Manning Building, then Bowker Place. Its presidents have been David Pingree, Edward D. Kimball, Charles H. Fabins.


More details on the many banks can be found in the Hurd book listed below, p. 325-342.
More details on the many banks can be found in the Hurd book listed below, p. 325-342.

Latest revision as of 20:09, 6 March 2025

Salem Banks include many that started in the mid 1800's.

Salem Savings Bank was incorporated in 1818. It commenced business on Central Street, then removed to the Bowker building and in 1855

to the Asiatic Building Washington Street. Its presidents have been Dr. Edward A. Holyoke, 1818; Joseph Peabody, 1830; Nathaniel Silsbee, 1844.


Salem Five Cents Savings Bank was incorporated in 1855. It opened in the second story of the Downing Block, No. 175 Essex Street,

then later in the second floor of the Northey Building. It's presidents have been Edward D. Kimball, 1855; Edmund Smith, 1861; Henry L.

Williams, 1862.


The Merchants' Bank was incorporated June 26, 1811. The bank was first located in the Union Building, later in the Bowker Block and

in 1855 moved to the second floor of the Asiatic Building on Washington St. Its presidents have been Benjamin W. Crowninshield, 1811;

Joseph Story, 1815; John Treadwell, 1835.


The Naumkeag Bank was incorporated in 1831. It commenced business in the store of Benjamin Dodge, opposite the Essex House, then to

the Manning Building, then Bowker Place. Its presidents have been David Pingree, Edward D. Kimball, Charles H. Fabins.

More details on the many banks can be found in the Hurd book listed below, p. 325-342.

See Also

History of Essex County, Massachusetts: with biographical sketches of many of its pioneers and prominent men Comp. D.H.Hurd, Vol. 1, p. 325-342.

Historical Sketch of Salem 1626-1879 Osgood, p. 235-237