Salem Country Club

From Salem Links and Lore
Revision as of 12:45, 4 November 2016 by Jstrom (talk | contribs)

Salem Country Club was founded by 12 men on Nov. 4, 1895. Among the founders were Frank W. Benson and his brother Henry P. Benson.

The location they looked at was Gardner farm in North Salem, which later became the Gardner Park residential neighborhood on the

Peabody-Salem line.

The primitive course in Gardner Park did not work out at first, so they voted to move to the Goldthwait land in South Salem on Loring

Avenue. This arrangement lasted one year, when they moved back to Gardner Farm and built a clubhouse.

The club moved permanently in 1925 to Sanders Farm in West Peabody. By 1926 the club had 600 members.

See Also

Salem Country Club: one hundred years, 1895-1995 G. Larrabee