New England Telephone Company: Difference between revisions

From Salem Links and Lore
mNo edit summary
No edit summary
 
(7 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
'''New England Telephone and Telegraph Company''' operated a facility on 35 Norman Street, until its closing in 1976, though some workers continued to work at the directory assistance office next door.
'''New England Telephone and Telegraph Company''' operated a facility on 35 Norman Street, from approximately 1900 until its closing in 1976, though some workers continued to work at the directory assistance office next door.
The change came when the long distance calls were first being controlled by a computer-like processor instead of telephone switchboard operators.
The change came when the long distance calls were first being controlled by a computer-like processor instead of telephone switchboard operators.


In 1956, Salem converted from a manual style telephone operation to a dial tone.
A "dial tone" service began in Salem at 2 a.m. Sunday Nov. 11, 1956. The multi-million dollar system served 43,000 telephones between the towns of Salem, Beverly, Danvers, Essex, and Peabody.
To place a local call, people used 2 letters and 5 numbers.


[[Category:Browse Index]]
[[Category:Browse Index]]
[[Category:Businesses]]


==See Also==
==See Also==
*Vertical File in Salem Collection - '''New England Telephone Company'''
*Vertical File in Salem Collection - '''New England Telephone Company'''
*Busy Salem switchboard finally switches off" ''Salem Evening News'', Jan. 5, 1976, p. 14.
 
*[http://innopac.noblenet.org/search/?searchtype=d&searcharg=new+england+telephone&searchscope=24&SORT=DZ&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=Xnew+eng New England Telephone Topics, July 1914] New England Telephone and Telegraph Co.
*Busy Salem switchboard finally switches off. ''Salem Evening News'', Jan. 5, 1976, p. 14.
 
*[http://evergreen.noblenet.org/eg/opac/record/2058423?locg=1 New England Telephone Topics, July 1914] New England Telephone and Telegraph Co.
 
*"Area converted to Dial; officials say cut-over made without hitch" ''Salem Evening News'', Nov. 13, 1956, p.1-2

Latest revision as of 12:12, 13 September 2019

New England Telephone and Telegraph Company operated a facility on 35 Norman Street, from approximately 1900 until its closing in 1976, though some workers continued to work at the directory assistance office next door. The change came when the long distance calls were first being controlled by a computer-like processor instead of telephone switchboard operators.

In 1956, Salem converted from a manual style telephone operation to a dial tone.

A "dial tone" service began in Salem at 2 a.m. Sunday Nov. 11, 1956. The multi-million dollar system served 43,000 telephones between the towns of Salem, Beverly, Danvers, Essex, and Peabody. To place a local call, people used 2 letters and 5 numbers.

See Also

  • Vertical File in Salem Collection - New England Telephone Company
  • Busy Salem switchboard finally switches off. Salem Evening News, Jan. 5, 1976, p. 14.
  • "Area converted to Dial; officials say cut-over made without hitch" Salem Evening News, Nov. 13, 1956, p.1-2